top of page
  • Black Bandcamp Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

The Coolin' System / Self Titled

In November 2010, the Coolin’ System booked three days at Poor Man’s Studio which was newly-moved into a home in East Nashville, Tennessee. The goal was to record an album, jazz-style, live in the room. They did their best work feeding off each other in the moment. Each song was attempted one to three times straight to one inch tape and the result, based on the type of live band that they had become, was magic.


Dripping with a love for soul-jazz music of the late 60s and early 70s, this album is a testament to a different community of musicians in Nashville striving to expand on the title of Music City.  The band takes on tunes by Eddie Harris, Yusef Lateef, Funk Inc. and Stanley Turrentine. 


Produced by The Coolin' System and Nick DeVan

Engineered by Nick DeVan


Pablo Ahogado-Fender Rhodes and Hammond Organ

James Bonomo-Drums

Joe D. Douglas- Tenor Saxophone and Flute

Sam Farkas-Guitar

David A. Guy-Fender Bass

Mikie Martel-Trumpet and Flugelhorn

Andy Wilmoth-Percussion

Jonathan Solomon - Percussion

Diego Vasquez - Trombone

bottom of page